About Malta

Malta is an archipelago of three islands is strategically located in the Mediterranean, part of Europe but close to North Africa and the Middle East. The three islands, Malta, Gozo and Comino, have a population of more than 400,000 inhabitants, occupying an area of 316 square kilometers.

It is a member of the European Union and boasts excellent relations with its neighbours.

Malta is a cultural, commercial and administrative centre. It is bubbling with history, dating back to 5200BC and the arrival of man. Highlights in its historical journey include the beginning of Christianity with the Shipwreck of St Paul in 60AD, the battle against the Ottoman Empire in the Great Siege of 1565, independence from Britain in 1964, becoming a Republic in 1974 and joining the European Union in 2004.

Valletta, a UNESCO World Heritage City, is the capital city of Malta. In 2018 it will be the European Capital City of Culture.

Maltese and English are the two official languages but many Maltese also speak Italian.

Its climate is typically Mediterranean with long days of sunshine.

Areas of heritage and culture to be explored in Malta include The Grandmaster’s Palace, The Sacra Infermeria, St John’s Co-Cathedral, Palazzo Falson, The Museum of Fine Arts, The War Museum, Fort St Elmo, The Mosta Dome, St Paul & St Agatha’s Catacombs, Mdina, Hypogeum, the Temples and Ghar Dalam.